You are entering the secure New College Portal, where:

  • Prospective residents can apply for membership of New College and NCV.
  • Current residents can renew their membership.
Continue to the Secure New College Portal
You are here:  

Home » 

Unsw Student Accommodation » 

University Support » 

Academic Support


Academic Support

At New College, academic achievement is highly valued. The Master holds a doctoral degree and is actively involved in research and scholarship.

New College Alumni have gone on to complete higher degrees at some of the world's leading institutions, such as Harvard, Oxford, Cambridge and MIT. A high percentage of college members are currently achieving at least a distinction average. Historically over 40-45% of Collegians receive a distinction average each year.

The College aims to foster an environment in which students can achieve to their full potential. As part of this, academic tutors are available within the college and academic achievement is rewarded with awards given annually to the highest achieving students. The premier academic award of the College, the New College Award, is given each year to the person who best exemplifies the academic ideals of the College.

Tutoring at New College

In each year, academic tutors are appointed within the College to assist students with their studies. Our tutors are typically senior undergraduates who have done well in their own studies and who are willing and able to assist students in junior years. The type of assistance given varies from discipline to discipline, and may take the form of formal tutorials or one-on-one tutoring. The composition of the tutoring team also varies from year to year, dependent on the composition of the College community. 

The Academic Tutors for 2017 are:

  • Senior Academic Tutor, Johnny Wong: Calculus
  • Olivia Branson: Psychology
  • Daniel Larratt: Law & International Studies
  • Henry Bell: Biology & Chemistry
  • Jarrod Garlick: Business
  • Henry George: Algebra
  • Glenn McGuire: Computing
  • Henry O'Callaghan: Humanities
  • Scott Panzenbock: Physics & 1st Year Engineering
  • Jason Yan: Medicine
  • Andrew Long Peng: Medicine