You are entering the secure New College Portal, where:

  • Prospective residents can apply for membership of New College and NCV.
  • Current residents can renew their membership.
Continue to the Secure New College Portal
You are here:  

Home » 

Media & Events » 

News » 

Formal Dinner » 

2013 New College Commencement Dinner


2013 New College Commencement Dinner

March 11, 2013
Posted by: Jonathan Billingham, 10:15AM

The 2013 New College Commencement Dinner was held on Wednesday, 6th March. This evening is a special occasion in the life of the College and represents the first formal occasion of the year at which the whole College community is encouraged to take part. Members of the New College Board, Life Fellow, Mr Bill Barwick, several staff members and alumni of the College, joined almost 250 current collegians for the evening function.

Professor Fred Hilmer, The Vice-Chancellor and President of UNSW, and Mrs Claire Hilmer were the guests of honour at the dinner. Professor Hilmer addressed the New College community for the third time since becoming Vice-Chancellor of UNSW. He spoke about how UNSW is transitioning to become a 24/7 uni, an environment where students and staff will be able to access services, go through lectures and undertake research with greater flexibility than at present. Practically, this takes into account the growing population of students and researchers living on-campus. Prof Hilmer said that university students and staff expect to be be able to buy food, groceries and have access to the medical centre 24 hours a day, seven days a week. The Vice-Chancellor explained that a 24/7 structural orientation will help the university remain financially viable in the future by utilising the extensive assetts of UNSW outside of traditional business hours. Prof Hilmer highlighted the advantages and disadvantages of a 24/7 community, particularly acknowledging the need for individuals to take time to rest from work and 'turn off' to technology.

New College presents academic prizes each year to residents across a range of different disciplines and these were presented by Professor Hilmer.

Prof Hilmer awards Claire-Elise Green a New College Academic Award for her achievments in Physics during 2012.New College Academic Prize Winners for 2012

  • Claire-Elise Green – Physics
  • Jessica Dunn – Biology
  • Willem Henskens – Medicine
  • Laura Jeffress – Engineering & Industrial Chemistry
  • Brittany Richardson – Arts

The university medal is the highest accolade that undergraduates can achieve. In 2012 New College alumnus Emily Rumble (New Collegian 2007-2010) was awarded the UNSW Medal in the discipline of History. Emily made significant contributions to life at New College through debating, NCSA productions and particularly as the Senior Academic Tutor in 2010. The Master, Professor Trevor Cairney, gave particular recognition to Emily and also acknowledged the University prize winners for 2012 during the dinner.

Musical Item:  “Aria – pour saxophone alto et piano” by Eugene Bozza.  Performed by Alexander Charlton

New Collegian University Prize Winners for 2012

  • The Faculty of Engineering Deans Award  [the 2012 awards recognizing study in 2011] – Daniel Atkins, Andrew Davis, Jarrah Duckhs, Brendan Fox, Sarah Hayes, Ben Hughes, Oscar Wilkie
  • The Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences Deans Award  - D’Arcy Baxter, Tom Boak, Katie Lillyman
  • The Faculty of Built Environment Dean’s List – Hannah Degotardi, Phillip Griffin, Liam Williamsz
  • The Faculty of Law Dean’s List – Emily Rumble
  • Robbi Bishop-Taylor – The School of Humanities Prize
  • Nicholas Gouvernet– The Samos Polymers Prize in Industrial Chemistry
  • Andrew Davis – The Engineers Australia Civil & Structural Engineering Prize
  • Chris Webb – The Advanced Operating Systems Alumni Prize
  • Jarryd Pla – The CiSRA Best Paper Prize
  • Oscar Wilkie – The Photovoltaics Prize (Applied Photovoltaics)
  • Edward Hagger-Culloton– The Suntastic Project Prize
  • Matthew Schiller – The Prize for Phase 3 Portfolio
  • Bridget Oakley – The Graham Turner Bursaries Prize (rural clinical school)
  • Willem Henskens– The Maurice (Toby) Arnold Anatomy Prize
  • Daniel Keith– The Faculty of Science Prize for 2nd Year Advanced Science
  • Claire-Elise Green– The Australian Institute of Physics Prize AND The Nucletron Prize in Experimental Physics

Nb: Bold indicated current Collegians

New Collegians Tim Curtin , Andrew White & Ed Rose

L-R: Mr Bill Barwick (Life Fellow of New College), Mrs Carmen Cairney, Rev Canon Bruce Morrison (Chair of the New College Board) & Mrs Lucy Chubb (New College Board Member)

New College  Alumni - Academic Prize Winner Oscar Wilkie and 2012 University Medallist Emily Rumble

Professor Trevor Cairney congratulates New College residents & alumni on their academic acheivments

New Collegians Megan Telford, Michael Babbage and alumnus Emily Rumble


Next >