You are entering the secure New College Portal, where:

  • Prospective residents can apply for membership of New College and NCV.
  • Current residents can renew their membership.
Continue to the Secure New College Portal
You are here:  

Home » 

Media & Events » 

News » 

Formal Dinner » 

2016 Valedictory Dinner


2016 Valedictory Dinner

November 08, 2016
Posted by: Jacqui Willing, 12:05AM

emily trigge new college awardOn Friday 28th October, the annual New College Valedictory Dinner was held to farewell departing Collegians. Among the proceedings, Collegians were also recognised and celebrated for their invaluable contributions to the community.  Major awards were presented by both the College and the New College Students’ Association (NCSA) including the New College Award for Academic Excellence, the New College Award for Collegiality and Service to Society and the NCSA Collegian of the Year.

The 2016 New College Award for Academic Excellence was awarded to Emily Kozera. During her four years at New College, Emily has maintained an outstanding academic record in her studies of Medicine. In 2016, her work has been published in various journals on four occasions. Serving as Academic Tutor and Senior Academic Tutor, Emily has continuously gone above and beyond in her support of others and involvement in the community despite her numerous other commitments.

The 2016 Award for Collegiality and Service to Society was awarded to Emily Trigge. An exemplary New Collegian, Emily has embodied the ideals of the college both academically and culturally with her enthusiastic involvement in productions, sport and sub committees since 2012. Having led the community in O-Week, on the New College Christian Fellowship Committee and as a Residential Advisor, Emily has continued her sincere kindness for others in her role as Senior Residential Advisor.

The NCSA Collegian of the Year was awarded to Mirren McGuire for her outstanding service to the community. Her incredible dedication to college life over the past two years has seen her act, sing, and dance in performances, direct play and act as a pillar of support for freshers and friends alike.

sportsman and woman of the yearThe NCSA also recognised the work of other Collegians throughout the year including:

Sportsman of the Year

Connor Jephcott

Sportswoman of the Year

Lydia Frazer

Most Inspirational Sportsman

Tim Davis

Most Inspirational Sportswoman

Annabel Paul

The Mick Braund Award

Zoe Marshall

The Matt Giblin Award

Yasith Ruberu

Service Awards

Peter Arnott, James McColl, Annabelle Thorne, Erin Prince, Henry O’Callaghan

Subcommittee of the Year



Next >