You are entering the secure New College Portal, where:

  • Prospective residents can apply for membership of New College and NCV.
  • Current residents can renew their membership.
Continue to the Secure New College Portal
You are here:  

Home » 

Media & Events » 

News » 

Award » 

Women Sporting Champs (again)


Women Sporting Champs (again)

October 23, 2012
Posted by: Jonathan Billingham, 10:00AM

The New College women have brought home the UNSW Inter-college Sporting Shield again this year, with back-to-back victories. Laura Butterworth, the female sports director has been delighted with the consistent participation of many Collegians, as both players and supporters through the year. This is the 24th time that New College women have brought home the annual Inter-college Shield since they first won it in 1979. The sporting dominance of the New College women is highlighted by the number of sports in which they finished  1st, 2nd or 3rd.

Sport Comps Won by New College Women as part of the Overall Inter-College Shield in 2012

Cross Country


Water Polo
Touch Football
Sport Comps in which New College Women were Runners-Up in 2012 Ultimate Frisbee
Sport Comps in which New College Women came 3rd in 2012 Tennis














The New College men, who won last year’s Rupert Myer's Inter-College Men's Sheild, came a very close second in 2012.

Whilst many Collegians contributed to the sporting acheivements already mentioned, four Collegians were honoured in particular at the Valedictory Dinner that was held on Friday evening. These were Rachel Beale for 'Most Inspirational Sportswoman'; George Davis for 'Most Inspirational Sportsman'; Sportswoman of the year, Katherine Grellman; and Sportsman of the year, Damien Wang.

Neither the Women's or Men's sporting teams would have performed so well if it were not for the dedication and many hours of organisation undertaken by the 2012 NCSA Sports Directors, Laura Butterworth and Stuart Taylor. 

Visit the Historical Sporting Records page of the New College website.

Visit the complete Honour Boards page of the New College website. 




















Next >