You are entering the secure New College Portal, where:

  • Prospective residents can apply for membership of New College and NCV.
  • Current residents can renew their membership.
Continue to the Secure New College Portal
You are here:  

Home » 

Media & Events » 

News » 

Award » 

New Collegians Achieve Academically



January 03, 2007
Posted by: New College Admin

As part of the 2007 Commencement formal dinner New College recognised current and former residents for their academic achievement in the 2006 academic year.

University prize and award winners were acknowledged and the 2006 New College Academic Prizes were presented. In 2006 the College community received strong results with 45% receiving a distinction average and 11% a high distinction average in 2006. The grade point average mark for the whole College was 73 (just below distinction).

New College Academic awards were presented by the Chancellor to the six student residents who had received the highest marks in their disciplines. The awards were presented to Michael Abbott - Commerce/Science; Robert Gerrand - Electrical Engineering; Tim Burgess - Materials Engineering; Jane Barr – Optometry; Gyongyi Horvath - International Studies and Jad Othman – Medicine.

Major University prizes had been awarded to four current residents - The Chinese Language Prize: Gyongyi Horvath; The Sheila Rimmer AM Prize: Kristen Dumitrescu; The Environmental Engineering Practice Prize: Kate Basset; The Head of School's Prize in Mathematics: Michael Abbott. Three former residents were also awarded University prizes - The Unions NSW Industrial Relations Prize: Anthony Samson (New College 2003-2004); The Era Polymers Prize in Industrial Chemistry & The Samos Polymers Prize in Advanced Polymers: Carla Bissett (New College 2002-2004) and The John Harrison Prize: Dean McGeary (New College 2004-2006).

Another resident, Johanna Elms, was honoured for her significant achievement in receiving an Order of Australia Association prize from the Governor General for leadership and service. Pictured: Chancellor Mr David Gonski present academic prize to Collegian Jad Othman at the Commencement dinner.


Next >