You are entering the secure New College Portal, where:

  • Prospective residents can apply for membership of New College and NCV.
  • Current residents can renew their membership.
Continue to the Secure New College Portal
You are here:  

Home » 

Unsw Student Accommodation » 

Nc Productions » 




The annual New College Revue is a significant fixture in the cultural & social life of the University of NSW. The Revue revisits the key events and personalities of the year both in College, the University and the world at large, offering an amusing and satirical look at events and personalities.

The New College Revue is the longest running annual revue of its kind on campus having its origins in the annual productions of “Garden Night” and “April Fool’s Night” which began in 1971. The original productions were the brainchild of the first Dean of the College Dr Phil Grouse who saw in these productions the possibility for greater artistic expression within the College. Through the decade of the ‘70’s these productions were fused into one which became a celebration of musical talent and the opportunity for residents to put together satirical skits and perform them before other members of the College, the University and the broader public.

Entering its 38th year in 2011 the New College Revue is produced, directed and performed by the current residents each year. The Revue revisits the key events and personalities of the year both in College and the world at large, offering an amusing and satirical look at what has happened. It requires the work of at least 100 Collegians writing, editing, filming, acting, singing, dancing, producing and directing, back-stage work and front of house.

1970 – First Garden Night (Director: Dr Russel Clark) and April Fool’s Night

1972 – Garden Night (Director: Daniel Kwok)

1973 – Let’s Join In (Director: Peter Bloomfield)

1974 – Really New (Director: Phil Grouse; Producer: Paul Robinson)

1975 - Malam Lagu Dan Taridra and April Fool’s Night

1976 – What’s New (Director: David Brown; Producer: Grant Lockart) and April Fool’s Night

1977 – And now for something completely New (Director: Mark Darby, Producer Jeff Barnes – interesting to note they had an MC for these nights as well) and April Fool’s Night

1978 – Oh No! Not New again (Directors: Tony Leece, Phil Campbell and Chris McKeith)

1981 – Shaming of the New

1983 – Dam Foreign Aids (Directors: Andrew Fisher, Doug Thost)

1984 – Review (Director: Milan Michael and committee)

1985 – New Clear Summit (Directors: Chris Sherm and Al James)

1986 – Abstinence Boulevard (Diretors: Tim Nelson, Liz Mackson, Adrian Johnson)

1987 – A Room within New (Directors: Lisa Cunial, Warren Armstrong and Kim Sides)

1988 – Midsession Night’s Scream (Directors: Tim Nelson, Sandra Lim and Meredith McLaine)

1989 – What’s Gnu? (name change from Garden Night to New College Revue) (Directors: Craig Johnston, Graeme Craft, Producers: Sarah Swainston and Steven Blackburn)

1990 – New 2: Rabble and Scum

1991 – Excuse me Madam, your dog’s about to cry (Directors: Phil Crossfield, Jane Buttsworth, Harry Turner)

1992 – Title Tbc (Directors: David England and Danny Williams)

1993 – Newrosis

1994 – Newvana (Directors: Andrew Ritchie, Rob Johnson and Nathan Jones; Producers: Phil Nobes and Amanda Kerr)

1995 – Ecstacy Max (Stephen Cornelius, Nathan Jones, Andrew Burger)

1996 – Innewendo (Directors: Pete Butchatsky, Shane Pegg, James Vickery and Grant Mitchell; Producers: Lou Warner and Rebecca Prince)

1997 – Newthanasia

1998 – Title Tbc

1999 – Title Tbc

2000 - Mission-Impossible: New (M:I-New) (Directed & Produced by Mike Allen, Ben Stonehouse and Tim Baitch)

2001 – Newlin Rouge (Director: Gavin Uncle; Producers: Ben Lavis and Nick Woolrych)

2002 – The New Action Hero: In Search of a Prequel (Directors: Liz Lardie, David Winterton and Michael van Bergen; Producers: Bonne Eggleston and Alex Gillies)

2003 – Gangs of New College (Directors: Susannah Frith and Amy Morrison; Producers: Dan Morris and Julia Markwell)

2004 – 004 – Licence to Thrill (Directors: Susan Perry and Tom Pryor; Producers: Kate Andison and Kim Scruton)

2005 - Dr New (Directors: Fiona Goggins, Heather Champion; Producers: Guy Inder and Brendan Da Costa)

2006 - Super Average Man A New Age Hero (Directors: Albert Orr and Andrew Fist; Producers: Sarah Zardawi and Claire Lawley)

2007 - Apocalypse New (Directors: Pete Thompson and Tom Sorrenson; Producers Leigh Cummins and Alice Lang)

2008 - Bad Boys VII: The Streets of Kingsford(Directors: Edward Bird and Ed Kearney; Producers: Josh Yen and Iromi Karunatillake)

2009 – Dante’s Office (Directors: George Davis & Nathan Milham; Producers: Samuel Ison & Dhiva Eliezer)

2010- The Basement (Directors: Samuel Trotman & Rex Cover; Producers: Michael Riordan, Bridget Oakley & Chris Farley)

2011- The Man with the Golden Pun (Directors: Ross Willing & Andrew Hay; Producers: Sam Bates & Dan Atkins)

2012- Rules of the Game (Directors: Shreosi Deb & Grace Bennett; Producers: Joel Sercombe & Damien Wang)

2013- Clued Inn (Directors: James Heydon & Kenan Milham; Producers: Rachel Higgisson & Lucy McMullen)

2014- Dave (Directors: Rowan Thambar & Dominica Roebuck; Producers: Alex McKenzie & Amelia Bates)

2015 - Meanwhile Backstage (Directors: Hayley Morris & Ryan Milham; Producers: Taylah Reynolds & Michael King)

2016 - False Hood: A New Nottingham (Directors: Theodore Jolliffe & Jacqueline Willing; Producers: Laura Heydon & Kevin Jacob)